Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2006 11:00 pm Posts: 33
|
|
I don’t know if any of you have ever herd of poker payday. Their website is pokerpayday.com. A friend of mine told me about the site. What pokerpayday is supposed to do is to give you a questionnaire and then if you pass it they supposedly sponsor you in to poker tournaments. The basic sponsorship is supposed to be 5K for a 52 game commitment to play in poker tournaments online for your sponsors. The whole thing is set up to look like you could qualify for a sponsorship to play poker. Sounds good doesnt it. So I decided to give them a try. Well they do ask you for a $100 which is supposed to be a fee which is only charged to your card if you get a 5k sponsorship. From what I can tall poker pay day hands them out like candy. I got a contract and paid the 100 bucks. Then there was one tournament and after that the new bill passed and the whole US p[layer thing happened so all the games got canceled. The one that I played in was a private tournament for poker payday sponsored players only which was what I was expecting. OK then about a month passes without any games and pokerpayday says that they are looking for online poker room 's where they will accept US players. Well they have some kind of deal going with Amcopoker . Amco hosted a couple of blackjack tournaments for them. Well I thought that was odd anyhow because we signed up to play poker not Blackjack. Granted both are games of skill however if you do not play blackjack you have no skill in the game, which is where I am at with it. Anyhow Amcopoker moved to a new provider and is up and running again. PokerPayday sent out a email letting al the sponsored players know that they will have 3 poker tournaments a week and as long as we used the banner on their site to download the poker client we would be eligible for the games and no password was required. So he is where I think this turn in to a scam where pokerpayday is getting a cut of the rake of their players that are sent their if we actually play in cash games there. Well I logged in to play the game and it turns out its the freeroll on the site that anyone can just log in and play so now you are playing a $1000 free roll against 1300 people to win $250 first place and they were offering us some extra payout so I will give them that. I am not sure how much of a sponsorship this really is it seems like these guys are playing both ends and calling it a sponsorship. We will see how it goes. If anyone else here has had a run in with them or knows anyone that has please post here and let us know what youre feelings are. I am not saying it’s a total scam but I would think sponsorship would mean actually having someone pay a buy in in to a real tournament for you not a freeroll with some bonus money.
|
|